African Union Economic Commission

The Commission is the Secretariat of the Union entrusted with executive functions. It is composed of 10 Officials: A Chairperson, a Deputy Chairperson; Eight (8) Commissioners and Staff members. The structure represents the Union and protects its interest under the auspices of the Assembly of Heads of State and Government as well as the Executive Committee. The AU Commission is made up of Portfolios. They are: Peace and Security; Political Affairs; Trade and Industry; Infrastructure and Energy; Social Affairs; Rural Economy and Agriculture; Human Resources, Science and Technology; and Economic Affairs.

The mission of the Commission is become “An efficient and value-adding institution driving the African integration and development process in close collaboration with African Union Member States, the Regional Economic Communities and African citizens”.

The values to guide and govern the functioning and operations of the Commission are:

  • Respect for diversity and team work;
  • Think Africa above all;
  • Transparency and accountability;
  • Integrity and impartiality;
  • Efficiency and professionalism; and
  • Information and knowledge sharing.


Contact details of partner: 

African Union Headquarters

P.O. Box 3243  Roosvelt Street (Old Airport Area)  W21K19  

Addis Ababa, Ethiopia

Tel: (251) 11 551 77 00

Fax:(251) 11 551 78 44


Partner/Stakeholder Category: 
Regional Economic Commissions (REC)